“EXCUSE ME, DO YOU SPEAK ENGLISH?”

These are my favorite words to hear in Moscow. Usually it’s a tourist asking for directions to some cultural spot.  This was the case this morning – a couple of Italians trying to find the Moscow Museum of Modern Art.

Sculpture garden at the Moscow Museum of Modern Art on Petrovka. Photo courtesy of Englishman at the Gates  (http://moscowdoesntbelieveinhipsters.blogspot.ru/)

Sculpture garden at the Moscow Museum of Modern Art on Petrovka. Image courtesy of Englishman at the Gates.

I don’t know exactly why these incidents make me so happy –  maybe it’s the pride in showing off my hometown (I definitely have that), or in knowing my way around the city (which I still don’t – these guys got lucky because I live down the street from MMMA). Regardless of reasoning, this made my morning. Dobro pozhalovat’! 

4 thoughts on ““EXCUSE ME, DO YOU SPEAK ENGLISH?”

  1. Modern art…..sometimes I think you could go to a playground or a dump and see “modern art.” But there’s definitely a pride in showing off your hometown. I love to show people SK.

Leave a Reply

