Heels on Wheels

My best friend is a racer and a gearhead. She just wrote an absolutely wonderful essay for Formula 1 about driving, sports and stereotypes, and I wanted to share it.

And all the roads we have to walk are winding...

If you’ve read any part of my blog, you know I love racing, cars, and Formula 1. You also might know that I’m a girl (let’s hope you figured out the latter before the former). If you combine those two nuggets of knowledge, you should be able to figure out that I’m a woman in a man’s sport.

Circuit of the Americas had a competition to win a prize pack worth $20,000, for the upcoming US GP this weekend. Awesome seats, travel and accommodations, a super-exclusive dinner, meet-and-greet with the drivers, paddock passes, the works. To enter, all you had to do is write a 500 word essay on why going to this race is on your bucket list. Despite the fact that I already had tickets, I wanted to enter the contest – because who doesn’t want a free upgrade, and this was the ultimate upgrade.

Image

I spent a…

View original post 912 more words

One thought on “Heels on Wheels

  1. Pingback: UNAMERICAN | Home & Away

Leave a Reply

