SAINT PETERSBURG IN RUSSIAN ART

March is going to be the Saint Petersburg Month here at Home & Away. While I am sorting through some 600 photographs from my 5-day trip, here’s something by the way of an introduction: Saint Petersburg as depicted by Russian artists in the 19th and 20th centuries.

The Founding of Saint Petersburg buy Alexey Venetsianov, 1838.

The Founding of Saint Petersburg by Alexey Venetsianov, 1838.

Saint Petersburg Stock Exchange, by Ivan Aivazovsky. 1847.

Saint Petersburg Stock Exchange by Ivan Aivazovsky, 1847.

Riding on Neva River, by Alexey Bogolyubov, 1854.

Riding on Neva River by Alexey Bogolyubov, 1854.

Maslenitsa Festivities in the Admiralty Square, by Konstantin Makovsky. 1869.

Maslenitsa Festivities in Admiralty Square by Konstantin Makovsky 1869.

f

The Bronze Horseman by Vasily Surikov, 1870.

The Bronze Horseman by Vasily Surikov, 1870.

The Storming of the Winter Palace  by Vladimir Serov, 1943

The Storming of the Winter Palace by Vladimir Serov, 1943

23 thoughts on “SAINT PETERSBURG IN RUSSIAN ART

  1. I love the wintry Neva River and the Bronze Horseman (I remember the poem from my student days, vaguely at least). Looking forward to this month as I still haven’t made it to St Petersburg myself.

  2. I love old art Anna and these paintings are beautiful. I especially like the “Admiralty Square”by Konstantin Makovsky because I really like paintings that show social history and “The Bronze Horseman” by Vasily Surikov because the horseman looked dangerous and mysterious!

Leave a Reply

