RUSSIAN SPRING IN RUSSIAN ART – April

From the white of the remaining snow to the green of new foliage, from yellow buds mat’-i-macheha, to red Easter  eggs, April is when Russian landscape starts to get its color variety back.

Spring, by Aleksey Savrasov.

Spring, by Aleksey Savrasov.

Green Buds, by German Tarantinov.

Green Buds, by German Tarantinov.

Spring Flood (Great Waters), by Isaac Levitan.

Spring Flood (Big Water), by Isaac Levitan.

Spring in the Forest, by Ivan Shishkin.

Spring in the Forest, by Ivan Shishkin.

Forest, by Stanislav Zhukovsky.

Forest, by Stanislav Zhukovsky.

House in the Province, by Aleksey Savrasov.

House in the Province, by Aleksey Savrasov.

More Russian Seasons & Nature in Russian Art:

Russian Spring – March

Russian Winter – 2

Russian Winter – 1

Russian Autumn – 1

Russian Landscape throughout the Year

33 thoughts on “RUSSIAN SPRING IN RUSSIAN ART – April

    • The bright green one is my fave too. Sadly we’re still at least a week away from looking like that (in Moscow – longer in the countryside), so I think it’ll be making it as April by the skin of its teeth 🙂

  1. That Spring in the Forest one is amazing – I know it’s probably missing the point to compliment art by saying it looks like a photograph, but I am in awe of artists with that level of technical precision.

  2. Dear Anna, I saw your blog on Expat Eye and I have a question to you.
    apparently you work for RT news channel. Would you be able to publish a post on the situation in Ukraine and how do you think this civil war is going to end? Im scared for my friends in Kiev as well as Saint Petersburg. They provide me with lots of information and Im actually thinking of starting my own blog about it. I understand that in Russia FSB is going through people`s facebook pages and can even charge someone with a fine if he supports the opposition on his blog. But why dont more people with a high social status speak out against Putins crimes in Ukraine? He cant jail all of them. Russians living safely in USA could make their voices heard. Its not about destroying the historical relationship between Russia and Ukraine anymore, its about third war and millions of victims in the future. We cant be silent.

    • Hi Emmi

      I indeed work for RT, and I am someone of a politics fiend, but because any kind of a political discussion can quickly turn uncivilized, because practically anything concerning Russia is usually controversial, and also bc I am a spokesperson and the Head of Communications for the network and thus my words can always be taken as not just MY words, I tend to stay away from political discussion of any kind on this blog. H&A’s focus is expat/re-pat life in Russia, Moscow as a travel destination, and Russian art and culture, and I’d like to keep it this way. If you’d like to chat more about Ukraine via email, I am more than happy to do so.
      Regards,
      Anna.

  3. Oh my goodness. I love landscape and countryside paintings. They tell you so much of how the people used to live and where. I mean, just looking at “House in the Province, ” you can imagine a housewife, probably a farmers’ wife collecting the eggs and in somewhat hard but domestic comfort, and the fresh air. Look at those windows! I also like the “Spring Flood” painting because I like water. 🙂

  4. Pingback: RUSSIAN SPRING IN RUSSIAN ART – May | Home & Away

  5. Pingback: RUSSIAN SUMMER IN RUSSIAN ART – June | Home & Away

  6. Pingback: RUSSIAN SUMMER IN RUSSIAN ART – June | Home & Away

  7. Pingback: RUSSIAN SUMMER IN RUSSIAN ART – August | Home & Away

  8. Pingback: RUSSIAN AUTUMN IN RUSSIAN ART – September | Home & Away

  9. Pingback: RUSSIAN AUTUMN IN RUSSIAN ART – October | Home & Away

  10. Pingback: RUSSIAN AUTUMN IN RUSSIAN ART – November | Home & Away

Leave a Reply

