BIG CITY LIFE

View from the top of the world (my office on the east side of Moscow).

View from the top of the world (my office on the east side of Moscow).

Who doesn’t like Big Dick? Sorry, that’s Mr. Big Dick, and if you don’t know him yet, you must check out his always-hilarious, often-wise and totally SFW (despite a NSFW name) blog The Big Dick Chronicles about life, love, sex, marriage and other adventures right away. Mr. BD also happens to live in  MiddleOfNowhere, Missouri — or just about the opposite side of my universe in every way. I could tell he was a little jealous of my Big City Adventures, especially when he asked me to share my experience with Metropolitan Living and why I love it so much (because I do; by God I do!). Read on my very fun Q&A with Mr. BD about my international urban experience as a kid, college student and an adult but also about the quiet life in Middle America:

Moi: [The attraction of city life] is about freedom – doing what you want when you want to. It’s about choice – whether of the kind of cuisine I want to have for dinner, or whether I want to spend my weekend at a zoo or a movie theater or ice skating rink or a park. It’s about being able to call a friend on a whim and meet for a drink half an hour later, without anyone having to drive several towns over. It’s about having a dozen of friends and acquaintances all connected through metro lines. I also have a strong feeling of community and safety in a city – we are all in this together. If something happens there are a dozen doors I can knock on in 2 minutes. You are never alone. I love that.”

Mr. BD: I think the first attraction of country life is the freedom. The land is mine to cultivate, build, create as I please. Life in the country requires a degree of self reliance. I have to know a moderate amount about construction, auto mechanics, and household repairs. We’re too far removed from service providers to call someone out every time something goes wrong. There is no intrusion, no loud neighbors that keep me up at night. I can go outside and pee in the yard. We can swim naked in the pool at two in the afternoon (when the kids are still at school).

Moi: One of the unsung benefits of big city living is that nobody cards you at restaurants, especially when you’re wearing a suit on the way back from Congressional internship. So when not dancing, my friends and I would go out to “nice” DC restaurants for cocktails – we were such sophisticates! – and foreign policy debates. I don’t think any of us ever had a fake ID.”

Mr. BD: What do small town teens do on the weekend? “Well, you just drive around on the main drag. Most folks turn around down there at the Sonic and then you drive down to the Casey’s store and turn around there. And you do that until you either find a girl or run out of gas money.”

For more mid-day naked swimming stories, go to http://bigdickchronicles.wordpress.com/2014/07/26/a-day-in-the-life-of-something-i-know-thing-about-metropolitan-living/

18 thoughts on “BIG CITY LIFE

  1. I’m from a tiny village. And I love being close to nature. However, I cannot live in the country or even in a small city for too long. It drives me mad. It’s not just because there’s not enough to do, it’s because these places are full of people who’ve always lived there and don’t know – or want – anything else. Total disconnect, I’m afraid…

  2. Yep! “I can go outside and pee in the yard. We can swim naked in the pool at two in the afternoon (when the kids are still at school)” or not. You see. All my family live in the countryside of Cheshire in England, and this is the reason why I don’t! I mean, what if I don’t want your horse plopping horse poo in the front garden. This is a true story. Hmm. What then?!

    • Oh the joys of rustic life 🙂
      Growing up I had the best of both worlds – city living 9 months a year and totally rustic countryside experience at the dacha for the summer.

    • I bet it would be quite an adjustment. I feel like city to country is a much bigger ‘culture shock’ than ‘country to big city,’ or at least there are more things to distract and seduce you to make the acclimatization easier.

Leave a Reply

